Please Think First

I will tender an apology in advance if I tread on anyone’s sense of political rightness or need for world political involvement, but I need to exercise my civil right to express a concern about political rhetoric.

While I try to remain an independent politically, I do listen to what candidates say during the campaign phase of our election process. Recently a candidate speaking about our role in the international community has endorsed getting arms to “rebels” in another country to fight against the regime currently in power. I am the first to step up and advocate for democracy and freedom for our entire world community. I believe in the things we are so fortunate to have as “freedoms” in our country. I believe we can work with others to educate and assist them to create the country they choose. I do not advocate that we help them achieve this end with arms and munitions. I cannot believe that any of our politicos could advocate we should do such a thing.
It is NOT our place to tell other peoples what form of government they should have in place.  We fought against someone else telling us how to live and be governed.  It amazes me that anyone in this country would advocate that now?  That is so not who we should be.

If we are to learn from history and not repeat our mistakes, we need to remember what happened when we did this in Vietnam, Afghanistan and other countries. While our involvement starts as high-minded assistance, it seems to turn against us and we end up being the attacked. Let’s work for world peace, work for a world full of freedoms and co-operation. Let’s not repeat the ravages of recent decades and lose more and more of our young people to senseless death.

This entry was posted in Broken, Peace, Respect, Strength, Support and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment